- Tidy Library
- Resizing Images
- Menu Boards
- DataSet Ticker
- DataSet View
- Google Traffic
- HTML Package
- Local Video
- Menu Boards
- Shell Command
- Sub Playlist
- Twitter Metro
- Video In
- Web Page
- World Clock
On this page
- Connecting a Display
- Display Administration
- Row Menu
The primary purpose of Xibo is to show content on screens with the entire application suite existing for that one purpose. Xibo provides a concept called Displays to manage when and how content is shown on a screen.
Displays are uniquely identified by a hardware key which is generated when the Signage Player software is installed. This hardware key is used to create a Display record in the CMS and is unique to that one Display record.
Displays connect to the CMS over an API called “XMDS” (Xibo Media Distribution Service) with most Players only requiring the URL and CMS Key.
Alternatively, Displays can be added by providing a 6 character ‘Activation Code’ in the Displays page of the CMS.
Please note: Connecting a Display using the Add Display (Code) in the CMS is currently only supported for Android Players (from v2 R204 and later) and Windows Players (from v2 R202/R252 and later). We are working on supporting this connection method for all Players.
Displays are administered from the Menu, with logged in Users able to view the status of Displays that they have been assigned permission for.
Used for internal identification of the display.
Name given to the Display for easy identification purposes (this is not shown on the Display itself).
Tick = Player is up to date (this may also show as green in colour).
Cloud icon = Player has not logged in with content waiting to be downloaded (this may also show as amber in colour, as displayed in the example image above).
Cross = Player is currently downloading new content and has yet to complete (this may also show as red in colour).
Tick or cross to indicate whether the Display has been granted a licence with the CMS. This prevents unauthorised Displays being added to the CMS.
Tick or cross to show if the Display has logged in recently.
Date and time stamp of when the Display was last accessed.
Media Access Control Address of the Display (if the client software is capable of sending it).
Each Display has a row menu containing a number of actions that can be performed against them such as;
Each Display has its own Dashboard which shows the Displays current status, bandwidth usage, file status and errors.
Clicking on Edit opens configure options for that Display.
Displays can be tagged which allows for ordering and makes it easier to find.
Use the Profile Settings tab to see the settings applied from the selected Display Settings Profile.
Use the Advanced tab to apply a limit for the amount of bandwidth that a Display can consume.
Deleting a Display will remove it from the CMS entirely - this operation cannot be reversed. A deleted Display can be reconnected to the CMS by repeating the “Register” procedure which will create a new unique Display record.
From v2.3.10 select to ‘jump’ to Scheduled Layouts for the selected Display.
The Send Command functionality is executed via XMR to Players by selecting a predefined command. This is useful for sending Players ‘Reboot’ commands for example.
Please note: We are currently working to bring this feature to all Players but at present this is available for Windows Players from v2 R201, Android Players from v2 R203 and webOS R204. This feature is currently not supported on Tizen and Linux Players.
To use this functionality you will first need to activate Google Authenticator using Two factor Authentication, if you have not already set this up.
Once activated, click on Displays from the CMS main menu. Use the row menu for the Display you want to Transfer and click on Transfer to another CMS.
Ensure all the form fields are completed by:
- Entering the full CMS URL you wish to transfer this Display to.
- Providing the CMS Secret Key for the CMS Address you wish to transfer to.
- Complete the Two Factor authentication code, as displayed on the app.
Once the details provided have been authenticated, the Display will attempt registration with the ‘new’ CMS. Once the Display has been successfully transferred the Display will stop communicating with the ‘old’ CMS and will change from a ‘tick’ to a ‘X’ in the Authorised column.