On this page
The primary purpose of Xibo is to show content on screens with the entire application suite existing for that one purpose. Xibo provides a concept called Displays to manage when and how content is shown on a screen.
Please note: If no Default Layout is set or there is an issue with the Default Layout that has been set, the splash screen will be shown on Displays!
Displays are uniquely identified by a hardware key which is generated when the Signage Player software is installed. This hardware key is used to create a Display record in the CMS and is unique to that one Display record.
Administrator documentation for Player Installation guides can be found here
Connecting a Display
Displays connect to the CMS over an API called “XMDS” (Xibo Media Distribution Service) with most Players only requiring the URL and CMS Key.
Alternatively, Displays can be added by providing a 6 character ‘Activation Code’ in the Displays page of the CMS.
- Connect using Authentication Code
- Available from CMS: 2.0
- Connect using Authentication Code 2.0
Displays are administered in the CMS from clicking on Displays under the Administration section of the main menu. The Displays Grid will open for you to add new and manage exiting Displays.
Click the Folders icon to toggle on/off from view.
- Click on a Folder/sub-folder to search the contents and return results based on any filters applied to the grid.
- Tick All Folders to include searching in the Root Folder and return results based on any filters applied to the grid.
Check out the Folders page for further information.
Next to the Folders icon is a Display Map View:
View locations on the map to easily see the status of selected or all Displays.
From v3.3.3 the status of Displays in marker clusters will be shown as pie charts for easier identification.
Click on a Displays status icon on the map to reveal further information:
Use the blue List View button at the top of the map to return to the Display Grid.
ID - Used for internal identification of a Display.
Display - Name given to the Display for easy identification purposes within the CMS (this is not shown on the Display itself).
Status - Tick = Player is up to date (this may also show as green in colour). Cloud Icon = Player has not logged in with content waiting to be downloaded (this may also show as amber in colour, as above) Cross = Player is currently downloading new content and has yet to complete the download (this may also show as red in colour)
Authorised - Tick or cross to indicate whether the Display has been granted a licence with the CMS. This prevents unauthorised Displays being added to the CMS.
Logged In - Tick or cross to show if the Display has logged in recently.
Last Accessed - Date and time stamp of when the Display was last accessed.
MAC Address - Media Access Control Address of the Display (if the Player software is capable of sending it).
Each Display has a Row Menu containing a number of actions that can be performed:
Each Display has its own Dashboard which shows the Displays current status, bandwidth usage, file status and errors.
Clicking on Edit opens the Edit Display form which contains tabs with available configuration options:
- Displays can be optionally saved to Folders using the Edit form or from the Select Folder option on the Row Menu.
Assign multiple Displays to a Folder using the With Selected option at the bottom of the grid!
The unique Displays Hardware Key generated during installation will be shown here for the selected Display.
Displays can be tagged for organisation and to make it easier to find a large number of Displays all grouped by Tags. When entering text into the Tag field on the form, an auto complete helper will show possible matches to make it easier for Users to select from.
Use the drop down to Authorise to use an available Licence Pool slot for the Display.
Select a Layout to use as the Default Layout for the Display which will be shown when no other content is scheduled. If nothing is selected the splash screen will be shown instead.
Use the drop down to select the Display Type
Use this tab to provide further Display details:
If you are using the Ad Campaign functionality ensure that you complete the Cost per play and Impressions per play fields on this tab for all selected Displays.
Additional fields have been included designed to enhance advertising needs such as:
- The physical address of the display
- Is the display mobile?
- Venue type
- Languages supported
Optionally use this tab to provide reference information for the selected Displays. Once added, this information can be viewed in the Display grid and via the API.
Control email alerts and Global Timeout settings.
Wake on LAN
Enable Wake on LAN
Override Display Profile Settings for individual Displays:
Click the edit icon to change selected settings to override the Profile.
Enter details for remote access
- Apply a limit to determine the amount of Bandwidth a Display can consume.
Deleting a Display will remove it from the CMS entirely - this operation cannot be reversed. A deleted Display can be reconnected to the CMS by repeating the “Register” procedure which will create a new unique Display record.
The Send Command functionality is executed via XMR to Players by selecting a predefined command. This is useful for sending Players ‘Reboot’ commands for example.
Transfer Display to another CMS
- Transfer Display to another CMS
- Available from CMS: 2.2
- Transfer Display to another CMS 2.2
Once activated, click on Displays from the CMS main menu and use the Row Menu to click on Transfer to another CMS for the selected Display you want to transfer.
Ensure all the form fields are completed by:
- Entering the full CMS URL you wish to transfer this Display to.
- Providing the CMS Secret Key for the CMS Address you wish to transfer to.
- Complete the Two Factor authentication code, as displayed on the app.
Once the details provided have been authenticated, the Display will attempt registration with the ‘new’ CMS. Once the Display has been successfully transferred the Display will stop communicating with the ‘old’ CMS and will change from a ‘tick’ to a
X in the Authorised column.
Certain Actions from the row menu have the option to be ‘automatically submitted’, see Grids for further information!