On this page
The Layout Designer is the heart of content creation in Xibo. Each time a new Layout is added, or an existing one needs a design change, the Layout Designer is used.
On adding a new Layout, or clicking Design from the row menu of a Layout, the Layout Designer will open:
The left hand icon shows you the current ‘play’ status of the selected Layout:
- This Layout has not been built yet.
- This Layout is valid and can be scheduled once Published.
- This Layout is invalid and will not be Published for scheduling.
- This Layout contains media that can only be assessed Player side, and can be scheduled once Published.
Next to the icon the total Duration of the selected Layout is displayed in seconds which updates each time a Media item is added or an existing Duration is edited.
The Layout selector provides easy navigation between all Layouts the logged in User has permission to edit without having to leave the Layout Designer page. Enter search criteria and use the dropdown menu to change the Layout you are currently viewing/editing.
The Menu located to the right of the Status bar provides a list of options for Layouts.
Layouts in a Draft status have the following menu options:
- Once you are happy with your designs, set your Layout to Publish ready to be Scheduled.
Layouts can be set to be Published straight away with updates automatically pushed to Layouts that are in the schedule. A Publish Date can also be selected to Publish a Layout at a specified date and time.
Clicking on Discard draft will delete the draft and leave the Published version untouched.
Unlock Layout will show when another User is attempting to edit the same Layout.
If a User attempts to edit a Layout that is already being edited by a User, the Layout will lock to prevent editing. The Layout will remain locked for a specified amount of time (as shown in the lock message) or until the Layout is unlocked from this menu.On selecting the Unlock Layout button, the User will be redirected to the Layout Grid.
Layouts that have been Published have the following menu options:
Checkout to enable editing by putting the published Layout into a draft status.
Delete layout to completely remove.
Schedule published Layouts onto one or more Displays without having to leave the Layout Designer.
Use your design as a Template for creating additional Layouts to save time and to maintain a corporate image/standard.
The viewer will update as the Layout is designed so that users can clearly see what has been added and make necessary edits:
Edit or add Regions to your Layout using the Edit Layout Icon located under the viewer to open the editor:
Exit the editor and return to the Layout view using the back arrow in the top left corner of the viewer.
All Widgets/ Library Media and Regions have a Context Menu with a set of options that can be applied. This menu is located under the viewer for a selected Widget or Region or by right clicking a selected Widget or Region:
- Control Sharing options to View, Edit and Delete for Users/User Groups
- Select an Audio file from the Library to be attached to a Widget.
Once an audio file has been attached to a Widget, a speaker icon will show in the Timeline which can be clicked to re-open to edit.
- Enter Start and End times for Widgets
Widgets that have expiry dates set can be identified by the following icons shown in the Timeline:
Start date has been set for a future date/time.
Expiry date has been set.
Widget has been marked to be deleted on reaching the expiry date.
The Widget has expired but remains on the LayoutOnce the End date has passed the Widget will be removed from the Region. Expired Widgets that have not been set to Delete on Expiry will remain visible in the Layout Designer so that Start and End times can be re-adjusted if needed.
Click on an icon to re-open to edit.
It is important to note that the Layout will be marked invalid and not sent to Players if a Region is empty due to Widget expiry. It should also be noted that if at the time of download there was a valid Layout but the Player has since gone offline, the Layout will show with an empty Region.
Select a Fade/Fly In transition for when the Widget starts playing.
Select a Fade/Fly Out transition to move onto the next Widget in the Timeline.
If there are no more Widgets to follow or the Layout is in the process of being removed then the Exit Transition will apply as configured in Region Options.
Default Transition Type’s and Duration can be entered by an Administrator on the Settings page using the Defaults tab, which can then be applied to all Widgets.
Applied defaults can be overridden for Layouts by unticking the box in the properties panel.
Play a full Preview of your Layout by clicking on the Play button located at the bottom of the viewer:
All content that has been assigned to a Region can also be viewed. Use the arrows to cycle through all Widgets that have been assigned.
Edit all the elements of your Layout, Regions and assigned Widgets using the available options in the properties panel located on the right.
Use the tabs to configure media items using the available options for the content:
Use the properties panel whilst in the main Layout view, to access further configurations to apply to the Layout such as adding a background colour or selecting/uploading an image to use as the background:
Adding a Background Image
Add an Image which has already been added to your Library. Select an Image from the Image Library Search function from the Toolbar and click or drag to the Background Image area of the properties panel:
Ensure to Save clicking the button at the bottom of the properties panel:
The Layout Timeline displays the duration of individual Widgets and gives you an overview of how your configured media will play on the Layout. Icons will show to identify any options that have been applied which can be clicked to view in more detail and to edit.
Located to the right of the Timeline, the Interactive Drawer is used to add Widgets to be used when configuring Interactive Actions.
Toggle the drawer to open and add Widgets or Library files by clicking to add or drag and drop.
Once added, set a Target Region and configure using the available options in the properties panel.
Use as you create your designs to undo any changes or to completely remove from the Layout.
Click the top Exit button to leave the Layout Designer and return to the Layout Grid.